Bypolls Voting Today Latest News, Voting for 1 Lok Sabha seat, 4 assembly seats underway

Polling officers carrying Electronic Voting Machines (EVM), leave for their respective polling stations on the eve of the by-election of Bochaha assembly constituency in Muzaffarpur district. (PTI)

The by-elections in Asansol were necessitated as Babul Supriyo resigned as the MP of Asansol after switching over to the TMC from the BJP, while state minister Subrata Mukherjee, who represented Ballygunge, died last year.

By-poll to the Bochahan seat was necessitated by the death of MLA Musafir Paswan, who had won on the ticket of Vikassheel Insaan Party (VIP) of Bollywood set designer-turned-politician Mukesh Sahani. Sahani, who initially wanted to field the deceased MLA’s son Amar, recently lost his ministerial berth, and subsequently the trust of his prospective candidate. Amar jumped ship and is now in the fray as the candidate of the RJD, which his father had defeated to win the seat.

Meanwhile, the North Kolhapur bypoll has been necessitated following the death of sitting Congress MLA Chandrakant Jadhav due to Covid-19 in December 2021.

In Khairagarh, the bypoll was necessitated following the death of JCC (J) legislator and former MP Devvrat Singh last November. The seat, which falls in the Rajnandgaon district, had witnessed a triangular contest in the 2018 assembly polls when the late Ajit Jogi-led JCC (J) had entered the poll arena. Khaiargarh was among the five seats won by the JCC in the 90-member state assembly.


Leave a Comment